Largest District in Odisha, Know All Name of Districts in Odisha [Current Affairs]


Odisha, a state on the eastern coast of India, is renowned for its rich cultural heritage, diverse landscapes, and vibrant traditions. Amidst its picturesque locales lies the largest district of the state – Mayurbhanj. Sprawling across an expansive terrain, Mayurbhanj is a treasure trove of natural beauty, historical significance, and cultural splendor.

How Many Districts are there in Odisha?

Odisha comprises a total of 30 districts, each overseen by a District Magistrate and Collector. Additionally, the state is organized into administrative divisions, namely the Northern Division, Southern Division, and Central Division, with each division containing 10 districts. In addition to districts, there are 58 subdivisions, 317 Tehsils, and 314 Blocks across the state. Subdivisions are supervised by Sub-Collectors & Sub-Divisional Magistrates, while Tehsils are headed by Tehsildars. These administrative units play crucial roles in governance and public service delivery throughout Odisha.

Largest District in Odisha

Mayurbhanj district stands as a testament to Odisha’s diverse and rich cultural landscape. Spanning across a vast expanse, it holds the distinction of being the largest district in the state, both in terms of area and historical significance. Let’s delve into the captivating history, cultural heritage, geographical marvels, and administrative intricacies of Mayurbhanj.

Key Facts Related to Biggest District in Odisha

Here are the key facts related to Mayurbhanj, the biggest district in Odisha:

  • Mayurbhanj district is the largest district in Odisha by area, covering 10,418 square kilometers.
  • The district is named after two medieval ruling dynasties, Mayura and Bhanja, reflecting its rich historical heritage.
  • Mayurbhanj ranks as the third-most populous district in Odisha, following Ganjam and Cuttack, with a population of over 2.5 million as of the 2011 census.
  • Its headquarters is located in Baripada, with other major towns including Rairangpur, Karanjia, and Bahalda.
  • The district is home to the Simlipal National Park, which covers more than a fourth of its area and is a significant biodiversity hotspot.
  • Mayurbhanj has a diverse geography, including plains, hills, and forests, with the Simlipal Hills serving as a prominent watershed.
  • The district has a rich cultural heritage, with influences from various ruling dynasties and indigenous tribal communities.
  • Mayurbhanj was once a princely state and played a pivotal role in the history of Odisha, witnessing various phases of Maratha, Mughal, and British rule.
  • The district is known for its tribal population, with Scheduled Tribes comprising a significant portion of its demographic makeup.
  • Mayurbhanj has a well-developed transportation network, including national highways and railway lines, facilitating connectivity within the district and with neighboring regions.

Largest District in Odisha in terms of Population

With a population of 3,529,031, Ganjam district holds the distinction of being the largest district in Odisha in terms of population. Located in the southern part of the state, Ganjam is known for its diverse demographics and cultural heritage. The district encompasses various urban and rural areas, including bustling towns and serene villages. Ganjam plays a significant role in the economic, social, and political landscape of Odisha, reflecting its dynamic and vibrant character.

Districts of Odisha, Name List

Odisha, situated along India’s eastern coastline, covers an expansive territory spanning approximately 154,468 square kilometers. The state comprises numerous districts, each contributing to its diverse landscape and cultural tapestry. From the bustling urban centers to the tranquil rural areas, Odisha’s districts embody the rich heritage and dynamic spirit of the region.

Here is the list of all districts of Odisha:

Districts of Odisha
Angul Balangir Balasore
Cuttack Dhenkanal Gajapati
Jaipur Khordha Kalahandi
Koraput Malkangiri Nabarangpur
Nayagarh Rayagada Subarnapur
Boudh Bargarh Bhadrak
Debagarh Ganjam Jharsuguda
Jagatsinghapur Kendujhar Kandhamal
Kendrapara Mayurbhanj Nuapada
Puri Sambalpur Sundargarh

Largest District in Odisha, Know All Name of Districts in Odisha_40.1


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *